Bahamas Forex, CFD & Broker-Dealer License — SCB Registration
The Bahamas is the only offshore jurisdiction with a purpose-built CFD regime — its own registration category, its own rules, its own application forms, and a CFD Supervisory Officer who has to be registered personally. It also charges $45,000 a year to renew it.
That number tells you most of what you need to know. The Bahamas is not competing with Seychelles or St Vincent. It sits with Cayman and Bermuda — fifty miles off Florida, English common law, a regulator that publishes its enforcement decisions. For a broker who has outgrown the entry tier and needs a licence that liquidity providers and banks take seriously, it is one of the strongest options outside the EU.
For anyone shopping on price, it is the wrong jurisdiction. This page says so early rather than after an engagement letter.
Securities registration in The Bahamas is granted by the Securities Commission of The Bahamas under the Securities Industry Act, 2024. Four categories cover dealing, managing, advising, and arranging deals in capital markets instruments, with a separate registration category for dealing in contracts for differences. Minimum capital for dealing is USD 300,000. A resident director, resident CEO, independent resident compliance officer, and physical office are required. There is no corporate income tax.
What the SCB actually registers
Under the Securities Industry Act, 2024 there are four categories of registrable capital markets activity:
A firm running Class I and Class II broker-dealer activity generally needs Dealing and Arranging deals. Many applicants register for all four to keep the permissions open, which costs less than going back later. The correct combination depends on what the business actually does — and on whether other legislation is engaged. Investment funds fall under the Investment Funds Act. Spot digital assets fall under DARE. Neither is covered by a securities registration.
Dealing in contracts for differences is registered separately. It has its own category, its own fee scale, its own rules, and its own application forms. A forex or CFD broker registers for it specifically — it is not bundled into the dealing permission.
What SCB registration costs
The Commission publishes its fee schedule under the Securities Industry (Fees) Rules, 2024. These are regulatory fees paid to the SCB.
| Category | Application | Registration | Annual renewal |
|---|---|---|---|
| Dealing in capital markets instruments | $1,500 | $15,000 | $16,500 |
| Managing capital markets instruments | $1,500 | $12,500 | $15,000 |
| Advising on capital markets instruments | $1,500 | $8,500 | $11,000 |
| Arranging deals in capital markets instruments | $1,500 | $6,250 | $8,500 |
| More than one of the above | $3,125 | Highest applicable fee, plus $4,000 per additional category | Highest applicable fee, plus $6,250 per additional category |
| Dealing in contracts for differences | $5,000 | $20,000 | $45,000 |
| CFD Supervisory Officer | $1,250 | $3,750 | $6,250 |
A registered CFD firm also pays a quarterly activity fee, set in accordance with the Commission's current published policy, unless the Commission exempts or reduces it. Pro-rated annual fees apply to registrations granted part-way through a year.
Administrative fees
| Filing | Fee |
|---|---|
| Appointment or change in directors | $625 |
| Approval of issue, transfer or disposal of shares | $625 |
| Letter of good standing | $500 |
| Replacement certificate (per certificate) | $500 |
| Name change | $500 |
| Extension to file interim statements, 1 month (max 2 requests) | $700 |
| Extension to file audited statements, 6 months (max 2 requests) | $1,000 |
| Surrender of registration certificate | $500 |
| Application for exemption or waiver | $500 |
Zitadelle AG provides itemised cost estimates after an initial consultation.
Capital requirements — and why they are about to change
Under the Securities Industry (Business Capital) Rules, 2021, the current indicative thresholds are USD 300,000 for dealing and USD 120,000 for arranging deals.
Two qualifications matter more than the numbers.
The Commission can require more. It retains discretion to set higher regulatory capital where the entity's risk profile, activities, or client base warrant it. A firm running a large retail book or a complex product mix should not assume the floor is its number.
The rules are being rewritten
The Securities Industry Act, 2024 was a full re-enactment, and the subsidiary regulations and rules made under it — including those on regulatory capital — are still being revised.
The Commission issued Draft Securities Industry Regulations, 2026 for public consultation on 30 December 2025. A consultation on Draft Securities Industry (Contracts for Differences) (Amendment) Rules, 2026 followed in August 2026, alongside draft fee rules for digital assets and for financial and corporate service providers.
What this means if you are applying now: the framework is in transition. Expect the capital and conduct rules to settle during or shortly after your application. Build the file against the draft regulations rather than the 2021 rules alone, and expect the Commission to assess it that way. Zitadelle AG tracks the consultations and structures applications accordingly.
Physical presence — the requirement that decides most applications
The Bahamas requires real presence. Not a registered office, not a nominee arrangement.
Two rules that catch applicants out
The director and CEO can be the same person. The CO/MLRO cannot — that role has to be independent.
The CO/MLRO function can be outsourced depending on the scale of the operation, but only to a provider in The Bahamas. Outsourcing it to a compliance firm elsewhere does not satisfy the requirement.
Work permits. Any non-Bahamian working in The Bahamas needs a permit from the Department of Immigration. Fees vary by job title and the responsibilities attached to it, running from roughly USD 2,000 to USD 16,275. Budget by role rather than headcount — a senior title costs several times what a junior one does.
Zitadelle AG does not source office space or personnel directly in The Bahamas. We coordinate with providers who do, and run the immigration workstream in parallel with the SCB application so the two do not become sequential.
How the Process Works
Category assessment
Week 1Which of the four categories the business needs, whether CFD registration applies, and whether any other legislation is engaged. This is the first deliverable on every Bahamas engagement.
Incorporation
Weeks 1–3A Bahamian entity, formed through a licensed corporate services provider.
Application forms
Weeks 2–8Form 8 — Application for Registration as a Registered Firm — with all specified information and documents. CFD applicants use Form CFD1. An already-registered firm adding CFD business uses Form CFD2. Individual registrations for the CEO, Compliance Officer, CFD Supervisory Officer and Registered Representatives use Form CFD4.
Supporting documentation
Weeks 2–10Business plan, AML manual, internal controls manual, corporate resolutions, and fit-and-proper evidence for every officer.
Submission and review
From week 10Filed through the Commission's CoRI portal. Expect requests for further information.
Business licence
Post-approvalA firm doing business from within The Bahamas but not in the domestic economy needs SCB approval first, then a business licence.
Immigration
ParallelWork permits for non-Bahamian staff, run alongside rather than after.
Plan for roughly six months from submission of a complete application to being operational. The word doing the work there is complete. The clock does not start on a partial file, and documentation gaps are the main reason Bahamian applications drift.
Does The Bahamas have corporate tax in 2026?
No — not for anyone likely to be reading this page.
There is no corporate income tax, no capital gains tax, and no withholding tax. VAT applies at 10%. A business licence fee is charged as a percentage of annual turnover rather than profit.
The Domestic Minimum Top-Up Tax was enacted on 29 November 2024, implementing OECD Pillar Two. It applies a 15% minimum rate — but only to entities of multinational groups with global revenues of EUR 750 million or more in two of the last four years. A consequential amendment exempts an entity liable for DMTT from business licence tax under the Business Licence Act 2023.
A correction worth making
A number of published guides now state that The Bahamas "has introduced corporate tax." For essentially every brokerage reading this page, that is wrong. The DMTT is a EUR 750 million group revenue test. Below that threshold, the corporate income tax rate is zero.
Zero Bahamian tax says nothing about the shareholder's position at home. Controlled foreign company rules in the beneficial owner's jurisdiction can attribute profit back regardless of where the entity sits. Zitadelle AG assesses that exposure before recommending a structure, not after.
Ongoing obligations
| Obligation | Deadline |
|---|---|
| Annual fee | On or before 31 January |
| Annual Information Update (Form 10) | On or before 31 January |
| Interim financial statements (Form 13) | Within 30 days of each fiscal quarter end |
| Annual financial statements | By the 120th day after fiscal year end |
| Annual report of the auditor | By the 120th day after fiscal year end |
| Notice of change in auditor (Form 2) | Within 10 days of the change |
| Issue or transfer of securities (Form 6) | Written notice at least 30 days before; approval required |
| Change in information after registration (Form 5) | Within 5 days of the change |
| Other material changes | Immediate written notice |
| Transactions affecting financial resources | Prior written consent required |
| Liquidation | Prior SCB approval required |
A registered firm must also maintain adequate financial resources at all times, maintain indemnity insurance in the amounts the Commission requires, and notify the Commission before entering any outsourcing arrangement.
On AML: entities registered under the SIA are financial institutions for Bahamian anti-money laundering purposes. Every client is subject to due diligence — enhanced for high-risk clients, reduced where the client is itself a financial institution in a jurisdiction with an equivalent AML regime.
Regulatory positions on this page are verified against the Securities Industry Act 2024, the Securities Industry (Fees) Rules 2024, the Securities Industry (Business Capital) Rules 2021, and the Securities Commission of The Bahamas' published fee schedules and reporting obligations.
Regulatory position verified against SCB published sources: 31 August 2026
Digital assets and DAOs
The SCB also administers the Digital Assets and Registered Exchanges Act, 2024, a dedicated framework separate from securities registration. Draft DARE fee rules went out for consultation in August 2026.
The Bahamas has additionally enacted a Decentralised Autonomous Organisations Act, 2026 — one of very few statutory DAO frameworks anywhere in the world.
The distinction that matters for brokers: CFDs on digital assets sit under the securities framework. Spot dealing, custody and exchange sit under DARE. A firm doing both needs to be registered for both. See VASP licensing.
Bahamas vs Seychelles vs Mauritius
| Feature | Bahamas | Seychelles | Mauritius |
|---|---|---|---|
| Regulator | Securities Commission of The Bahamas (SCB) | Financial Services Authority (FSA) | Financial Services Commission (FSC) |
| Framework | Securities Industry Act, 2024 | Securities Act 2007 | Securities Act 2005 |
| Capital (dealing) | USD 300,000 | USD 100,000 | USD 22,000 (Full Service excl. UW) |
| Dedicated CFD regime | Yes — separate category | No | No |
| Annual renewal fee | USD 45,000 (CFD) | USD 6,000 (annual licence fee) | Not stated |
| Resident personnel required | Director, CEO, independent CO/MLRO | 2 resident directors + resident SD Representative | Resident directors + local compliance/MLRO (CIGA) |
| Corporate income tax | None | 3% | ~3% effective |
| Digital asset framework | DARE 2024 | Crypto-CFDs under Securities Act | Not stated |
| Realistic timeline | ~6 months from complete application | 8–12 months | 4–8 months |
| Best for | Licences that must survive institutional scrutiny | Fast, lower-cost market entry | Established brokers, institutional clients |
If the annual renewal fee is the deciding factor, this is not your jurisdiction. Seychelles or Vanuatu will cost a fraction and get you trading sooner, and there is nothing wrong with starting there.
The Bahamas is the right answer when the licence has to survive scrutiny — from a tier-1 liquidity provider, a banking partner, an institutional counterparty, or an acquirer running diligence on your group before a transaction. That is a different problem from getting authorised cheaply, and it is worth paying to solve properly. See also Seychelles FSA, Mauritius Investment Dealer, Cayman Islands, and BVI.
How to check whether a firm is SCB-registered
The Securities Commission maintains a public registrant and licensee status search. Anyone onboarding a Bahamian counterparty — a liquidity provider, a payment partner, an introducing broker — should use it before signing.
What it confirms: whether an entity holds a current registration, and in which categories.
What it does not tell you: anything about the firm's conduct, its financial position, or whether it is meeting its ongoing obligations. Registration is a starting point for diligence, not a substitute for it.
The Commission also publishes its disciplinary decisions, public notices, and investor alerts. Those are worth reading alongside the register.
How Zitadelle AG assists
Zitadelle AG does not provide office space or source personnel directly in The Bahamas, and coordinates with local providers who do.
Frequently Asked Questions
A forex or CFD broker registers with the Securities Commission of The Bahamas under the Securities Industry Act, 2024. Dealing in contracts for differences is a separate registration category with its own rules, fee scale and application forms — it is not bundled into the general dealing permission. A firm running broker-dealer activity alongside CFDs generally needs both the dealing permission and the dedicated CFD registration.
Is The Bahamas the right jurisdiction?
The four-category question decides your capital requirement, your fee schedule, and your substance obligations — and it is the first thing to get right. Zitadelle AG assesses your business model against the SIA 2024 framework, identifies which registrations apply, and tells you honestly whether The Bahamas is the right jurisdiction before any application begins.
Quick Facts
- Regulator
- Securities Commission of The Bahamas
- Framework
- Securities Industry Act, 2024
- Categories
- Dealing, Managing, Advising, Arranging
- CFD registration
- Separate category
- Capital (Dealing)
- USD 300,000
- Capital (Arranging)
- USD 120,000
- CFD annual renewal
- USD 45,000
- Resident personnel
- Director, CEO, independent CO/MLRO
- Corporate income tax
- None
- VAT
- 10%
- Timeline
- ~6 months from complete application
- Updated
- 31 August 2026
Disclaimer: This page is provided for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal or regulatory advice. Securities Commission of The Bahamas requirements and the subsidiary legislation made under the Securities Industry Act 2024 are currently under revision. Always consult a qualified advisor before initiating an application.